top of page

Australian re-elected to UN Committee on Elimination of Discrimination against Women

Australian Government

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

June 10, 2024

Credits @FFHR.CZ

The Australian Government congratulates Ms Natasha Stott Despoja AO on her re-election to the United Nations Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women.

The committee is made up of 23 independent human right experts from around the world that monitor the implementation of the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women.

The Convention is a powerful tool to combat gender discrimination and drive genuine progress towards gender equality across the globe. It enshrines women’s rights to equal and meaningful access to political and public life, education, health and employment.

Minister for Foreign Affairs, Senator the Hon Penny Wong, commended Ms Stott Despoja on the impact she has had in her first four years on the committee.

“Ms Stott Despoja’s leadership is pivotal to eliminating discrimination against women and girls globally, in our region and at home,” Minister Wong said.

“Through her understanding of international law and treaties, Ms Stott Despoja will be a strong force in the fight to protect and promote women and girl’s human rights.

“She will be an important voice, as the only expert on the committee from the Pacific region.”

Minister for Women, Senator the Hon Katy Gallagher, welcomes Ms Stott Despoja’s re-election, which continues Australia's global leadership in advancing women and girl's rights.

“Ms Stott Despoja’s re-election to the committee will enable her to continue work to improve the lives of women around the world, and bring back insights and lessons for us to use as we work towards gender equality at home in Australia," Minister Gallagher said.

“In her second term on the committee, she will be an influential global leader for gender equality and advocate for women and girls’ human rights everywhere.”

Ms Stott Despoja will serve on the committee in her personal capacity, commencing on 1 January 2025. This will be her second term on the committee.


bottom of page